← Return to the blog index

National Credit Union Foundation marks 40-year milestone with latest DE cohort

DE Graduates

The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) celebrated an additional 48 graduates of its signature Development Education (DE) program last week.

The fourth and final cohort of 2022 marked the end of the DE program’s 40th year.

This graduating class joins more than 2,000 credit union advocates from 35 countries who have previously received their CUDETM (Credit Union Development Educator) designation.

Dohnia Dorman, chief experience officer for the African-American Credit Union Coalition (AACUC), was among the graduating class. Dorman said, “I’ve heard people describe DE as ‘transformative’ and ‘life-changing’ for many years. I can say with certainty it’s not hyperbole.

“I’ve come away from DE with a deeper understanding of how multiple, seemingly unrelated global issues can compound to make financial services inaccessible to so many. More importantly, I have a clearer vision for how the AACUC can influence our domestic and international credit union ecosystem, and can partner with credit unions to address these issues and build the truly equitable, inclusive financial movement the credit union system was formed to be.”

The Foundation’s Director of Programs, Tobi Weingart, added, “The needs and expectations of consumers have radically changed since DE was established in 1982. But the opportunity for credit unions to leverage the cooperative principles to meet those needs—to work with empathy to understand their communities, and develop products and services that have a positive, measurable impact on them—remains.

“The DE program’s longevity is testimony to the credit union movement’s unerring commitment to improve financial well-being for all.”

The full list of November 2022 graduates is as follows:

    • Joe Adair, University Federal Credit Union
    • Thalia Anguiano, CUNA Mutual Group
    • Nate Barker, Mountain Heritage FCU
    • Hank Baum, Mutual Security Credit Union
    • Caitlin Brama, Financial One Credit Union
    • Jenni Brennan, Clackamas FCU
    • Justin Brown, Coastal Credit Union
    • Gregory Carmichael, Civic FCU
    • Samuel Chambers, CUProdigy
    • Sokchiveneath Taking Chhoan, Fed des Caisses Desjardins Quebec
    • Lindsey Deinhardt, Allegiance Credit Union
    • Dohnia Dorman, African-American Credit Union Coalition
    • Odyssey Dudra, Ent Credit Union
    • Jackie Gilbert, Suncoast Credit Union
    • Rick Goluszka, Illinois Credit Union League
    • Sheila Gonzales, Electrical FCU
    • Julie Hardegree, Advancial FCU
    • Jen Hogan, Community Credit Union
    • Maurice Johnson, CUNA Mutual Group
    • Angie Kerr, Air Academy FCU
    • Francine Leslie, First Financial FCU
    • Ellie Lisinovic, Peach State FCU
    • Sarah Lopez, Nusenda Credit Union
    • Rob Lovesey, Serve and Protect Credit Unoin
    • Lisa Mason, NextMark FCU
    • Roosevelt McLemore, True Sky Credit Union
    • Dan Mitchell, CUNA
    • Lisette Molina, Members Credit Union
    • Giovana Monaco, Connex Credit Union
    • Jim Phelan, Great Lakes Credit Union
    • Lorna Quinn, SchoolsFirst FCU
    • Josh Rhoden, SRP FCU
    • Brittani Richards, Thrive FCU
    • Mesha Rivers, VyStar Credit Union
    • Terri Robinson, Ironworkers FCU
    • Sonya Royal, Interstate Unlimited Credit Union
    • Martha Ruiz-Pinon, Rio Grande Credit Union
    • Shanna Schneider, Adventure Credit Union
    • Ashley Sellers, Elements Financial FCU
    • Carol Stelnicki, PSCU
    • Sam Sullivan, OAHE FCU
    • Chris Tompkins, GECU
    • Heather Uhl, WV Central FCU
    • Justin Weber, Alloya Corporate FCU
    • Chris Wester, Minnco Credit Union
    • Michelle Wood, Mazuma Credit Union
    • Kelly Woomer, Christian Financial Credit Union
    • Kiana Wright, Raiz FCU
Share this post on