2022 Foundation Dinner Logo

The Foundation Dinner Presenting the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards

Celebrating the true purpose of our movement and those who work tirelessly to improve it.

Read more about the winners

About the event

  • The Foundation Dinner is our primary fundraising event. The generosity and support of the event’s sponsors directly affects the Foundation’s ability to catalyze change through credit unions nationwide.

    Date: Monday, February 28, 2022

    Location: Marriott Marquis in downtown Washington, D.C.

    Sponsorship opportunities are available can be viewed here. Benefits can include special table signage, brand placement across event materials, event signage and more.

    Secure your sponsorship or individual ticket

  • Held in conjunction with CUNA’s Governmental Affairs Conference (GAC), the dinner is an opportunity to reconnect with friends, build powerful new relationships and – through the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards – celebrate the innovators of our industry and the lasting impact they have on people’s financial lives.

    The last in-person Foundation Dinner occurred in 2020. It shattered all previous attendance records with over 1,000 credit union people gathering to celebrate our awardees, the credit union difference and the Foundation.

    Catch up on all the action from the 2020 Foundation Dinner:

    Awards press coverage

    Red carpet photos

    VIP reception photos

Herb Wegner Memorial Awards

The Herb Wegner Memorial Awards are a core part of the Foundation Dinner – celebrating the innovators of our industry and the lasting impact they have on people’s financial lives.

The 2022 Herb Wegner Memorial Award winners are:

Outstanding Individual Achievement Award

Outstanding Organization Award

2022 Wegner Award Winners

For the first time since 2019, an Anchor Award will be presented at this event. This rare accolade stands apart from the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards and is given to individuals and organizations that have shown incredible leadership through moments of intense adversity.

In 2022, the Foundation is proud to present the African American Credit Union Coalition (AACUC) with the Anchor Award. This honors the AACUC’s leadership in the aftermath of George Floyd’s murder and throughout the burgeoning Black Lives Matter civil rights movement.

The AACUC united credit unions in a commitment to change, placing industry-wide attention on identifying and eradicating systems and processes that negatively impact people of color.


In Honor of Herb Wegner

Since 1989, the Foundation has presented the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards, which are often referred to as the “Academy Awards” of the credit union movement.

The awards are named in honor of the late Credit Union National Association (CUNA) CEO Herb Wegner, whose tireless dedication, innovative ideas and deeds truly revolutionized the ways that credit unions serve their communities.

These awards are the credit union movement’s highest national honors and celebrate individuals and programs that put belief into action. Their achievements fulfill the mission of promoting financial freedom for millions of people around the world.

Herb Wegner Speaking on stage

Thank you to our presenting sponsor!

  • Visa Logo

Catalyst Sponsor

  • CO-OP Financial Services Logo

Hero Sponsors

Philanthropist Sponsors

AACUC • AACUL • ALM First Financial Advisors • Alloya Corporate FCU • Bellco CU • California & Nevada Credit Union Leagues • Corporate One FCU • Cornerstone Foundation • Credit Union Association of the Dakotas & BHFCU • Fiserv • Mitchell, Stankovic & Associates • PSCU • Redwood CU • Suncoast CU • Wisconsin Credit Union League

Sponsor the Foundation Dinner

Sponsorship opportunities are available and benefits can include special table signage, brand placement across event materials, event signage and more.

Download the Sponsorship Form

Get in touch

For more information on the Wegner Awards Dinner

Contact Jenni Speth, Events & Donor Experience Senior Manager

Jenni Speth

Jennifer Speth, CUDE

Events & Donor Experience Senior Manager

Jenni manages the planning and execution of all Foundation major events and works directly with the Engagement Director to enhance donor experiences.