← Return to the resources index

Progress through partnership: the 2020 Herb Wegner Memorial Award Winners

Case Studies Case Studies
2020 Herb Wegner Memorial Award Winners

The 32nd annual Herb Wegner Memorial Awards highlighted a range of individual and organizational achievements in the credit union industry, each highlighting what can be achieved through collaboration among cooperatives. The following content can be used to inspire current and future credit union leaders to seek progress through partnerships.

John Fiore | Director, Andigo Credit Union and Director Emeritus, Alloya Corporate Federal Credit Union

John Fiore spent 50 years in the credit union movement, his career a true embodiment of “service before self.” During his career, he was a fearless leader of innovation but also remained dedicated to doing what was best for members and made all decisions with that in mind.

Teresa Freeborn | Retired President & CEO, Xceed Financial Credit Union

Teresa Freeborn exemplified cooperation among cooperatives, working with peers to address challenges in the industry and improve people’s financial lives throughout her 40+ year career in credit unions. She also devoted time to cultivating the next generation of credit union leaders and served as a mentor to countless young women and men.

Maurice R. Smith | CEO, Local Government Federal Credit Union and Civic Federal Credit Union

Maurice R. Smith has worked tirelessly throughout his credit union career to secure financial freedom for members and provide opportunities for expanding financial products and serviced to the underserved. His leadership also led to the creation of a philanthropic arm for his state league to make an impact in member communities.

Learn more about the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards.

Share this post on