← Return to the blog index

Hyland, Newfarmer Honored by ACUM as 2022 Herstory Inductees

Foundation Executive Director Gigi Hyland

Originally shared by America’s Credit Union Museum.

America’s Credit Union Museum (ACUM) has announced the inductees of their newest exhibit, “Credit Union Women Making History: Herstory,” which highlights a range of credit union women and their achievements in the credit union industry. Set on honoring the past, present and future of incredible women making history, “Herstory” will be an interactive exhibit showcasing women’s stories never heard before.

Herstory was created as a lasting legacy of women whose contributions have propelled the movement forward for generations,” said Stephanie Smith, Executive Director at ACUM. “We’re excited to honor these women and celebrate their inspirational leadership and their commitment to positive change for credit unions.” Gigi Hyland

Foundation Executive Director Gigi Hyland and current board member Lily Newfarmer, President & CEO of Tarrant County’s Credit Union, are among the inaugural inductees.

“I’m profoundly humbled to be honored as an inductee to America’s Credit Union Museum’s newest exhibit,” Hyland said. “It’s particularly meaningful to join my incredible fellow inductees – women who have been mentors and served as inspiration to me.”

Also included as an inductee is Lois Kitsch, retired former National Program Director, who spent 13 years with the Foundation.

Several inductees have also been honored with Herb Wegner Memorial Awards: Kitsch, 2004; Maria Martinez, 2017; Susan Mitchell, 2018; Diana Dykstra, 2019; and 2022 awardee, Lucy Ito. In addition, Renee Sattiewhite accepted the Anchor Award on behalf of AACUC at the 2022 dinner.

The new exhibit will premiere at ACUM’s 20th Anniversary celebration on Thursday, September 29th, 2022, beginning at 11:00 am. In addition to a physical display at the museum, the exhibit will have an online presence that shares stories through virtual visits. During this celebration, twenty women of the credit union industry will be formally inducted.

The 2022 Inductees are:

Sarah Canepa Bang, Senior Advisor, National Credit Union Administration

Diana Dykstra, President/CEO, California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues

Roshara Holub, President (retired), Missouri CU Association, Naples, FL

Gigi Hyland, Executive Director, National Credit Union Foundation, Washington, DC

Lucy Ito, Interim CEO, Orange County’s Credit Union, Santa Ana, CA

Lois Kitsch, Founder, CU Difference, Kissimmee, FL

Harriet May, President/CEO (retired), GECU, El Paso TX

Maria Martinez, President/CEO, Border Federal Credit Union, Del Rio, TX

Susan Mitchell, President/CEO, Mitchell Stankovic & Associates, Boulder City, NV

Lily Newfarmer, President/CEO, Tarrant County’s Credit Union, Ft. Worth, TX

Renee Sattiewhite, President/CEO, African American CU Coalition, Snellville, GA

Carol Schillios, Founder, Schillios Consulting, Edmonds, WA

Denise Wymore, Head of Marketing, QCash Financial, Olympia, WA

In addition, ACUM will recognize a number of inductees posthumously, including Agnes Gartland, Elizabeth “Sis” Hamilton, Louise Herring, Dora Maxwell, Angela Melville, Rose Nevener, and Miriam Rivera Lieb.

For more information on the Herstory exhibit and event, visit www.acumuseum.org/herstory.html

Share this post on