← Return to the blog index

56 Credit Union Leaders Were Designated As Credit Union Development Educators

June DEMADISON, WI (June 26, 2024) – The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) today announced 56 credit union leaders, were designated as Credit Union Development Educators (CUDEs) after completing the National Credit Union Foundation’s signature Development Education (DE) program in June 2024.

Delivered as an immersive week-long in-person event, the DE program is a unique, transformative training experience. It provides lessons in credit union structure, purpose and the “why” that differentiates credit unions from other financial institutions. Participants engage in small and large group exercises and interactive speaker sessions focused on the credit union difference, empathy, and financial well-being for all.

This graduating class joins more than 3,000 credit union advocates from 35 countries who have previously received their CUDETM designation.

“The needs and expectations of consumers may have evolved since DE was established 42 years ago. But the opportunity for credit unions to leverage the cooperative principles to meet those needs—to work with compassion to understand their communities, and develop solutions that have a positive, measurable impact on them—remainssaid Foundation’s Chief Program Officer and DE Director, Tobi Weingart.

“The DE program’s longevity exemplifies the credit union movement’s unwavering commitment to improve financial well-being for all,” added Weingart.

The June 2024 DE graduating class included credit union movement representatives from across the United States:

·       Aaron Beldner, Truity Credit Union
·       Dee Causseaux, Loyalty Credit Union
·       Alexis J. Jones-Singletary, First Financial of MD FCU
·       Amy Gordon, Corporate One FCU
·       Andy Bandyopadhyay, Attune Insights Inc
·       Angel Jones, State Employees’ Credit Union
·       Angie Weekley, Veridian CU
·       Angie Lutes, Cornerstone League
·       Anna Gasper, Altra FCU
·       Annette Janovic, Charter Oak FCU
·       Anthony V. Stevens, DC FCU
·       Asha Osoro, State Employees’ Credit Union
·       Ashley Frost, Revity Credit Union
·       Brett Young, Heritage South Community CU
·       Carrie Lewis, South Carolina Federal Credit Union
·       Chris Maynard, Scient FCU
·       Christine Hickey, National Credit Union Foundation
·       Christopher Vejby, Attune Insights Inc
·       Chylon Pappas, First Tech FCU
·       Cory Ouellette, MPECU
·       Daniel M. Garcia, True Sky CU
·       Darla Kolbas, Peninsula Community Federal Credit Union
·       Alex Rascón, GECU
·       Dave Drouin, PixelSpoke
·       Gabby Leavens, TruStage
·       Gloria Dixon, BECU
·       Hallie Smith, Streator Onized CU
·       Jessica Emert, ORNL FCU
·       Jessica Teszlewicz, Tinker FCU
·       Justin Frazier, Canton School Employees FCU
·       Kaci Magyar, Spero Financial FCU
·       Katie Fehl, Cooperative Choice Network CU
·       Kefilwe Masalila, Botswana Savings & Credits Coop Society
·       Opiyo Kenneth Odhiambo, Mwalimu National Teachers SACCO
·       Kerry Youngren, Credit Union 1
·       Kimberley Lindo, Jamaica Coop Credit Union League Ltd
·       Kimberly Chapman, Neighbors Federal Credit Union
·       Kimberly London Plant, TruStage
·       Kyndal Dickinson, TwinStar CU
·       Lucie Misfeldt, City & County Credit Union
·       Mark Burgess, Credit Union 1
·       Melaine Campbell, Jamaica Coop Credit Union League Ltd
·       Mike Nelson, Black Hills Federal Credit Union
·       Rebecca Metty-Burns, Cutting Edge FCU
·       Rhonda R. Littles, Peach State FCU
·       Ricki Baccarella, Ent CU
·       Robyn Cooper, Vizo Financial Corporate CU
·       Rosalind Karimi Kibanga, CIC Insurance Group – Kenya
·       Sara Dyer, CUES
·       Stephanie Cuevas, California and Nevada Credit Union League
·       Tara C. Breaux, Maple FCU
·       Tess Jennings, First Tech FCU
·       Tishamika Lee, Unitus Community CU
·       Todd DeVoogd, SchoolsFirst FCU
·       Valarie Montgomery, Heart of Louisiana FCU
·       Valerie Burns, Golden 1 Credit Union

The program was facilitated by the Foundation’s Chief Program Officer, Tobi Weingart and Dave Hinchey, VP of Community and Social Impact at The Credit Union League of Connecticut and coordinated by Alicia Crotteau, Programs Coordinator the Foundation. The class was mentored by Danielle Harris, the Foundation, Kay Neidlinger, Indiana Credit Union League, Robbie Young, CUInsight, and Stephanie Decker, Coastal Credit Union.

Interested in attending DE?

Registration for Virtual DE is still available! To register for an available program or for more information on DE, please visit ncuf.coop/development-education/program. To be added to the notification list to receive DE updates directly to your inbox, please contact [email protected].


About the National Credit Union Foundation (ncuf.coop)

The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) is the charitable arm of the U.S. credit union movement and works as a catalyst to improve people’s financial lives through credit unions. Through grants and programs, the Foundation is strengthening financial well-being, igniting passion and instilling knowledge about the credit union difference, and uniting resources to help credit union people during disaster. Donations to the Foundation ultimately enable credit unions to help their members reach life-changing goals and achieve financial freedom.

Media Contact:

Amber Conger

[email protected]

Share this post on