NCUF to Present 2 Wegner Awards for Individual Achievement

Rita Haynes and Tom Sargent Receive Credit Union Movement's Highest National Honors

For only the third time in 21 years, the National Credit Union Foundation (NCUF) Awards & Recognition Committee has seen fit to name two winners in a single category for the Herb Wegner Memorial Awards.

Winners of the 21st Annual Herb Wegner Memorial Awards for Individual Achievement are:
  • Rita Haynes, Treasurer, Manager & CEO of Faith Community United Credit Union in Cleveland, Ohio
  • Tom Sargent, President/CEO of First Tech Credit Union in Beaverton, Oregon
Rita Haynes: Treasurer, Manager & CEO, Faith Community United Credit Union“Rita and Tom’s achievements are both extraordinary and unique,” related NCUF Awards & Recognition Committee Chairman and Wegner Awards Dinner Emcee Bob Schumacher, CEO of MountainCrest Credit Union in Arlington, Washington.

“Rita’s achievements in payday loan alternatives, second chance auto loans, and foreclosure preventions are shining examples of how credit unions can change lives by providing affordable financial services in low-income communities,” Schumacher observed.

“And her achievements are especially amazing coming from a credit union with only $10 million in assets and four full-time staff.”
Tom Sargent, President/CEO, First Tech Credit Union“Tom’s achievements in fundraising for ‘Credit Unions for Kids’ transcend even the largest individual credit unions,” Schumacher contrasted.

“Inspired by a personal commitment, Tom has achieved what only the most effective national credit union leaders have done throughout our history – uniting credit unions across the country around a single cause. Tom has motivated credit unions of all sizes to do life-changing charity work in communities supporting Children’s Hospitals.”
Haynes and Sargent will be honored at the 21st Annual Wegner Awards Dinner presented by NCUF. The dinner will take place on February 23 at the Grand Hyatt Washington on the opening night of the Credit Union National Association’s 2009 Governmental Affairs Conference. Online registration will be available this fall.

The Wegner Awards are named in honor of the late Credit Union National Association CEO Herb Wegner, whose tireless dedication, innovative ideas and deeds truly revolutionized the way that credit unions serve their communities. The awards that bear Wegner’s name honor his legacy and recognize his spirit of “innovative, creative, risk-taking” leadership.

For more on Haynes’ and Sargent’s innovations, click their names or photos.
Click here for information on the gala dinner!